River City Flyers

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

River City Flyers is an R/C Flying Club in Spanish Lake Missouri

3 posters

helping a newbie

NoelGStL

helping a newbie Empty helping a newbie

Post  NoelGStL Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:54 am

i inherited a nice plane which has been sitting in a garage for many years (perhaps near 20 years) the monokote is in awesome shape, came with servos and an OS 40FP engine. I have been flying silent stuff for years this is my first introduction to powered stuff. I am not at all sure what I have really. It would appear to be perhaps a Cessna 172 perhaps 73 inch wing (its huge). I am looking for someone whom may be able to help a newbie out a little. As I said I have been flying silent stuff for about 5 years now, and this beastie has been given to me, the engine needs a good once over, and most likely a tune up. I do know that the throttle is sticking, when I try to crank the engine over by hand it feels free and spins. I did hook up my current Rx and the control surfaces work just fine. Unfortunately I have let my AMA card laps. I was one of the unfortunates that was unemployed for a time and priority took priority. I am looking for someone whom may be able to take a look at and tune up this plane and help me get this beast up in the air. Rivercity has an awesome site (its as nice as the Sod Farm MVSA flyies on) not to mention alot closer to home. I am also interested in membership. Any help or info would be greatly appreciated! thank you.. Noel Guinard
    Bill Harris
    Bill Harris

helping a newbie Empty Re: helping a newbie

Post  Bill Harris Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:51 am

Noel, bring it out, and I promise that someone will help you. Lenny is the one to talk to he is our Pres. and CHIEF trainer. You gotta have An AMA card though. Safety is number ONE.
    NoelGStL

helping a newbie Empty newbie doing his homework

Post  NoelGStL Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:28 am